parallax background



Beavers are the second youngest section of the Scouting family. Their activities are based around making things, outdoor pursuits, singing, playing games, going out on visits, investigating nature, listening to stories, learning how to be safe and most importantly, making new friends. As well as earning activity badges, many Beavers get to go on camps and sleepovers, often for the first time!

All of these activities are part of what makes being a Beaver so much fun for both boys and girls

Beavers Basics

Beavers are aged between six and eight years old, and work through a varied programme of activities, adventures and badges to gain their Chief Scout Bronze Award, the highest award a Beaver can get.

A group of Beavers is called a Colony, and each Colony can be split up into smaller groups called Lodges.

Beavers Promise & Motto

Beavers have a Promise and Motto, but there is no Beaver Scout Law as with the older sections. The concepts of the Scout Law are presented to Beavers Scouts through games, storytelling and activities.

The Beaver Promise:
I promise to do my best
To be kind and helpful
And to love God

The Beaver Motto: Be Prepared